Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles IV

How can you not love this? What are you, a monster?
Hi again!
As I’ve probably mentioned before in the million words I’ve written about SNES games, unlike other “journalists,” I will never claim to be free from bias. In fact, I’ll come right out and tell you my bias because it’s a lot easier than attempting to look at things objectively or fairly.

In the case of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles IV: Turtles in Time, my bias is that I love this game. I love this game the way you love your mom. This game raised me as a child. I didn’t own it, but I did spend countless hours in a friend’s basement playing it. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles IV takes me back to a simpler time, much as it transports the eponymous turtles into fantastical adventures in history. Let’s tag along, shall we? If you keep reading we shall. If you stop reading we shalln’t.

I guess you might be mad at that word I made up at the end of the last paragraph, so take that anger and pretend it’s because Krang just stole the Statue of Liberty and Shredder mocked you about it. When you went to stop that dastardly duo, they shoved you through a time warp. Jerks! No wonder you’re mad.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles IV: Turtles in Time is a damn fun game. Big surprise, you play as one of the four turtles, whose names are as follows (in case you’re 6 or 70 or have been locked underground or something): Leonardo, Donatello, Michelangelo and Raphael. They each have their signature weapons, but considering the reach of the bo staff, Donatello is probably the best. He’s also good at science, so that’s a plus.

The game really shines if you have a friend to play it with. The multiplayer for TMNT IV: TiT (haha) is buckets of fun as you circle each other fighting off the combined forces of Krang and Shredder and probably some dinosaurs. The controls are responsive and crisp and each turtle “feels” a little different as you move its shelled carcass around the screen to hit a thing.

There’s a vast array of enemies, from the lowly Foot Soldier to the mighty Mousers. The boss fights are entertaining, the level design is pretty, the soundtrack is great, more glowing words of praise. This could very well be my favourite beat ‘em up, and it’s a great, great game. I’m glad I got to “review” it for my return to reviewing SNES games after our little hiatus.

If you haven’t played TMNT IV: TiT then you should do yourself a favour and play one of the three SNES games that doesn’t completely suck.

One thought on “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles IV

Leave a Reply

