Super Metroid

This is what happens when you don't pay your interior decorator a fair wage
I had forgotten how intense Super Metroid was. It’s been a long time since I last played the game, and it’s much better than I would have expected, given the fresh coat of paint that nostalgia usually delivers.

After donating the last of the metroids to a scientific research station to study its energy-producing capabilities, the totally famous Samus Aran flies off into space to hunt for some more bounties or pose for swimsuit photos on alien planets when she’s suddenly interrupted by a distress call from the very scientific research station she just left! Hurrying back to the scene she’s greeted by devastation: everyone lies dead and the station is in ruins. As she makes her way down to where the metroid is kept, the space pirate lizard dragon thing Ridley appears and grabs it! RIDLEY! Then he disappears and the scientific research station begins to self-destruct as Samus is left to race for the safety of her ship.

Racing through the self-destructing scientific research station as it self-destructs is pretty thrilling, and when I got back to my (Samus’) ship and flew away from the planet at the last second, I was thinking “I want my plot device baaack!” Instant hook. I’m hunting you, Ridley.

Samus heads to the planet Zebes, familiar terrain for those of you who played the first game, which is probably very nearly all of you. Landing on Zebes and foraging around for power-ups she totally had and then ditched for some reason is what occupies the next chunk of Samus’ time. Eventually some enemies show up and the killing begins again.

There’s something so isolating and weird about the Metroid games, but I have a hard time defining exactly what it is. The fact that you don’t have any contact with anything but aliens that are trying to kill you as you navigate a treacherous labyrinth might have something to do with it, but it could also be the fact that you never once see Samus making a call on her cell.

I‘m firmly convinced that this is by far one of the best titles available in the SNES library—do you disagree? If so, why? Actually, don’t answer that because I don’t care.

4 thoughts on “Super Metroid

  1. Complete agreement that this title is by far and far one of the best titles available for the SNES. I’d go so far as to say it’s the best metroid game in the entire series.

  2. I have yet to finish it–though I’m close–but even at this stage, I am firmly convinced that it’s one of the most finely structured games I’ve played for the system. Seiken Densetsu 3 may trump it when it comes to visuals–and many would point to Seiken as a benchmark for what the SNES could pull off–but no-where did I feel its design to be as engrossing as Super Metroid. It may not look, or always sound, as ambitious as it could, but the design propels it so distantly above most else that comparisons seem irrelevant.

  3. Funny thing…I completed this game for the first time ever not too long ago! I attempted it several times during my youth but I was far too impatient for this style of game. Nevertheless, it is undoubtedly one of the best games to be released for the SNES. Few others have managed to maintain their value like Super Metroid has.

Leave a Reply

