Robotrek

This is a JRPG that begins in darkness, with someone saying your name, and then you waking up in a quaint isometric house.

I have named my character thusly because it pleased me. I feel it unnecessary to give a real picture, because if you have seen any other JRPGs, you've seen this one.

Because of this, I was unable to play it for more than 10 seconds.

From what I’ve read, though, Robotrek was one of the predecessors of Pokemon – you would go around and find parts to build and raise three different robots, whom you would use to fight instead of doing it yourself.  It’s an ATB system where you can switch robots instead of using your turn, which is also very reminiscent of Pokemon.  That’s kind of interesting, but I’m sure it takes about half an hour to an hour to even get to the point where you get to fight or, you know, actually play a game.  The pacing on JRPGs is fucking unapologetically glacial, in this era, and at this point I am unwilling to tolerate it.

Okay, to be fair this robot enemy that I Googled is actually pretty cool.
Leave a Reply

