Monopoly

AW HELL NO I WOULD SOONER SLEEP ON THE STREET THAN PAY GARY CANT 26 DOLLARS

Confession time: I’m a part of the “system.” I work in QA. Right now, I’m in school, so I had to take a QA job doing the most ignoble type of QA work possible: mobile phone games testing.

However, I worked on the most recent version of Monopoly for cell phones, and: it is better than this game.

This should be not a sad point, but a beacon of hope. The games being made for cell phones have more care put into presentation, playability and overall awesometude than full-price console games once were. This one runs too slow, doesn’t display the information you want when you want it, and looks like crap. A regular LG cell phone (we’re not talking iPhone, here) not only has nicer graphics, but they are presented in a more user-friendly way.

Luckily, since the team I am on at work is testing ports of previously-released games instead of pre-launch titles, I can actually talk about them. I’ve tested Monopoly, and several Tetris titles, and even a Sims game on the phone. Heed my words, gamers: the garage is less garbage than it once was. Rejoice.

By the way: for some reason you can select someone named “Gary Cant” as an enemy. I’m not sure if that’s funny to me because it sounds like the name you give a loser (as in Can’t), or the name you give a pretend philosopher (as in Kant), or a name you give someone you hate very, very much (as in _______) (you fill it in, I can’t write that here).

Leave a Reply

