Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: The Fighting Edition

TIDAL SCREEEEENN!!!

I was never into Power Rangers when it was on TV. I must have been around 12 when it first came out, which probably placed me right on the edge of the target demographic. As lineout mentioned previously, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles was essentially on its way out, which I had already transitioned from watching almost religiously every time it was on after school, regardless of whether or not it was a rerun, to shrugging off in tired disinterest any time I switched channels to it on a Saturday. Honestly, I probably had better things to do like practice guitar, comb my proud peach-fuzz mustache, or try to download warez off of one of the local BBS’s at 9600 bps.

Don’t look at me like that…I’m not old yet…

Random button-mashing = SUCCESS

So, if I recall correctly, a typical Power Rangers episode went as follows:

  1. Some cheesy, one-off story line is presented featuring the Rangers in their normal high-school environment. It’s somewhat like Saved by the Bell, but with considerably less drama fueled by one of the main characters’ addiction to caffeine pills.
  2. A crazy person in a monster costume shows up across town and starts killing people and basically just wrecking up the joint.
  3. The Rangers jump into their color-coded spandex suits and start beating the crap out of the drug-addled costumed hobo.
  4. Some freaky woman with pointy hair and an obnoxious voice uses her magic wand to super-size the monster to Godzilla-esque proportions.
  5. The Rangers form Voltron and finish up the fight.
  6. The Rangers go back to school and conclude the story line with a smug sense of satisfaction.
  7. I die a little bit more inside.

What Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: The Fighting Edition does is filter the preceding outline down to just the Voltron fighting. Surprisingly, it does a somewhat adequate job of this. The game takes the Street Fighter II route of relying on various button combinations and direction-pad sweeps to execute special moves. There’s also plenty of flashing lights and colors to keep you visually entertained or otherwise induce epileptic fits.

He was strong, but he was no match for my flailing sword technique...

Fun fact: I just realized that the original black ranger was African-American, the original yellow ranger was of Asian descent, and, as far as IMDB tells me, the original red ranger was part Native American. Way to keep things PC, Saban Entertainment!

…or am I the bad guy for pointing out this connection? DEAR GOD, WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME!?

2 thoughts on “Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: The Fighting Edition

  1. Don’t worry about that racial connection. I made that when I was 11. Oh boy, does it mean there is something wrong with me?

  2. I blame society. It’s the American way™.

    Unless you live outside America®, I guess. Then, yeah, there probably is something wrong with you…

Leave a Reply

