The Irem Skins Game

something something blah blah blah 3-irons
something something blah blah blah 3-irons

This is a golf game. I don’t care to say much about a golf game; there’s not much to set this one apart, other than the fact that there’s some really messed up shading that makes me want to barf.

However, there are two things I do care to speak about, and both are in the title of this game: Irem, and Skins.

First, Irem. They made R-Type, one of the best shmups ever; they made In The Hunt, an insane side-scrolling submarine game; they made 10-Yard Fight, one of the best American football games ever (and one of the “best” hardcore bands ever named themselves after it); they made the previously discussed GunForce. As far as pixel art goes, these guys were the kings, back in the day. Only SNK, in my opinion, really matched thme in that department. As such, that makes them kings of heaven, in my book.

Second, Skins. I am not much of one for television dramas about high school youths getting into trouble (a lie, actually: I often am, now that I think about it) but holy shit, Skins. This show blew my mind. I won’t spoil anything (because you need ot see it), but the last (or is it second-last?) episode of series 1 has one of the most brutal, grim scenes of bullying and borderline torture I’ve ever seen on TV– in a teen drama. Plus, it launched the career of that kid from Slumdog Millionaire so you should watch it entirely based on that. He’s a much better actor on this show than that movie gave him a chance to prove.

I suppose I could talk about the other two words in the title of this game: “The” and “Game.” The Game is a book for assholes and it teaches you how to engage in manipulation/borderline brainwashing in order to get laid. If getting laid is that important to you I hope you invent a new STD and die of it.

Leave a Reply

