Hyper V-Ball

Did you know that UbiSoft was once a tiny company that had to crank out sports franchise games to make bank? They’re now one of the biggest developers of games in the world, with offices internationally, and are likely responsible for a 200% spike in polo shirt, cargo pants, and weird internet caffeine drinks in the city of Montreal in the year 2009 alone.

And they made Hyper V-Ball

There's nothing I can really add to this.

Now I’m not, nor was I ever, a sports game afficionado. I almost picked up NHL 10 this year. Whenever I talk to Brilliam about football manage I get a strange itch and want to look at sorted tables of prospects. I am so close to being into sports I can pretty much taste it.

Volleyball, though, seems to be synonymous with mechanical simplicity. I have played no less than three volleyball games: this one, another one that’s under my byline somewhere, and Dead or Alive Extreme Beach Volleyball. DOA being the first volleyball game I’ve ever played, I always assumed that the mechanical simplicity therein was a side effect of a number of bespectacled salarymen politely asking if they can skip to the part where girls drag their junk across logs in swimsuits.

This doesn’t seem to be the case. Every volleyball game I’ve played has been at its core a game where you attempt to out-time a device that measures its ability to time things in thousands of operations per second. Is real volleyball like that? I just remember spraining my ankle a whole bunch.

I played Germany. It was like Vimy Ridge all over again.

VolleyFact: Yukon "Yukon" Jones is the descendent of Sam Steele of the Northwest Mounted Police.
Leave a Reply

