GP-1

GP-1
GP-1

I’ve never been much of a fan of racing games, primarily because they’re never what they purport to be: a simulation of racing.  They never recreate the fun and excitement of racing in part because pushing buttons on a controller can’t reproduce the driving environment.  No amount of peripherals, steering wheels, pedals, etc. can do it either.  I’ve even seen a system that would blow air on you to simulate speed.  Still no immersion.  I should clarify that I do, however, love Mario Kart, in its various incarnations.  That’s primarily because it purports to be FUN, not a racing game.  And it is.

GP-1 falls into the category of games that are neither an accurate reproduction of the racing experience, nor fun.

It's the only bike that doesn't have 500 in the name... It must mean something...
It's the only bike that doesn't have 500 in the name... It must mean something...

You can pick your bike and your mechanic.  Yay!  You can pick a race.  You can look at the rear of your fellow racers.

Hey, wait up you guys! I'm kool too! I can jiggy with the bike nookie wookies in the jam with the pam! I'm kool!  I wanna be just like you!  Hey! Where are you going?  Ok, I'll just wait for you here...
Hey, wait up, you guys! I'm kool too! I can jiggy with the bike nookie wookies in the jam with the pam! I'm kool! I wanna be just like you! Hey! Where are you going? Ok, I'll just wait for you here...

And then the race starts, and you never see them again, unless they lap you.  The only company you get is the washed out green colours along the way, and the annoyingly repetitive vroom of your motor.  Vroom, vroom! Look at me!

Ironically, this game writes its own review.  If only the developers had taken their own feedback, perhaps we could have been spared and this game would have never been made.

Yes, this game IS hopeless!  How nice of the developers to point it out to us!  I love it when games write their own reviews.
Yes, this game IS hopeless! How nice of the developers to point it out to us! I love it when games write their own reviews.

Verdict: GP-1 is a painfully ordinary and boring racing game.  Go play Mario Kart, or something worth two tugs of a rabid armadillo’s tail instead of wasting your time.

Leave a Reply

