Full Throttle Racing

Even when it sucks working for a video game company (and believe me, that’s often), sometimes it’s kind of great.

I’ve spent about a year now working QA jobs. I, and people I know, have ended up doing some pretty decidedly non-QA stuff over the years. Since you’re at the bottom rung of the video game ladder, anything that doesn’t require much training is essentially your work. In the past 6 months, I have done copyediting, video editing and transcription, project leading, and, perhaps most interestingly, voice acting.

That’s right: they pulled me in because my voice is loud and I get paid peanuts. I had no qualms, because, hell, it’s hilarious. So, if you ever play Press Your Luck on the Wii, listen carefully to the contestant’s when they yell “BIG BUCKS!”, because it might just be me yelling. A coworker of mine did part of the voice work for one of my favourite games of all time: Jagged Alliance 2. It was made in Quebec, they had a Quebecois character (La Malice), and they didn’t want to pay for a proper voice actor, so by coworker did his voice (or… part of it, maybe. I think he may have been many French voices in one).

Full Throttle Racing has that strapped-for-cash feel to it, but perhaps nowhere thna the “rivals” it presents you with:

One of these was not actually in the game. Hint: it's "Hammer."
One of these was not actually in the game. Hint: it's HAMMER.

Yep. There you go, marketing department: you’re in a game now. I wonder if one of those guys is QA. I mean, on one hand, you got to be in a game, and that’s cool. On the other hand, your name is in the credits for doing QA work on a game that does this:

This is not, sadly, a Tim Schaefer game. It is, however, a glitchy one. The water's over THERE, grass sea-doo guy!
This is not, sadly, a Tim Schaefer game. It is, however, a glitchy one. The water's over THERE, grass sea-doo guy!

Bittersweet.

Leave a Reply

