F1 Pole Position

F1 Pole Position in-game ACTION SHOOOTTTT!!!

Racing and driving simulations have come a long way over the years. Okay, so have most other types of games to some extent or another. I don’t know, it sounded like a good start…leave me alone.

Either way, I’m fairly spoiled by the look and feel of modern racing games. The content and controls in most titles are fairly solid nowadays, and just about anything with pretty colors and lights will keep me entertained at least until the LSD wears off. So I’m going to take a step back in time mentally to try to get a feel for how I would have viewed F1 Pole Position around a decade and a half ago.

Hmm…no, this isn’t much better.

I’m just not feeling it. The controls are a bit difficult to grasp, and me without an instruction manual doesn’t make it any easier. The graphics are fairly bland, and trying to squeeze a Mode-7 racetrack view into a horizontally-split screen doesn’t make it easier for me to see what’s coming up. Sure, having the rear-view in the top half is neat, but it’s a bit wasted when most cars are almost always in front of you.

Yeah, I may be bitching just because I suck at this game. That’s my choice. There are more flashing lights and colors elsewhere…

Leave a Reply

