7th Saga

Here’s something I’ve wanted to get off my chest for a while:

Nintendo, Mode 7 was the stupidest, ugliest thing you ever rolled out. And that’s coming from someone who saw the second AND third SNES consoles.

Now, I’ve heard that 7th Saga is good. I have a friend who’s beaten it several times. But, if every battle has this atrocious Mode 7 graphic in it, I may throw up before finding a reason to play it. And that’s not just because I’ve had a few beers. But I have. Just putting that out there.

At the start of this game, you get to pick between seven characters (ooh, 7th Saga, Mode 7, 7 characters… I GET IT!) . They’re pretty awesome ‘classes.’ They are ugly, like this game, but they are hilarious. Elf, Human, Dwarf, those dudes make sense. It’s when you get to the giant golem, the demon and the damn ALIEN that it gets weird.

Anyway, I started playing, then I ran out into the world to fight some guys, and the first thing I fought killed me. It was a crow or something. I attacked it about 6 times and missed 5. Not impressed.

Is this game worth anyone’s time? Maybe. I wouldn’t know, I have a game to play a day AND a full-time job, thank you very much. Only RPGs of the very highest caliber will hold my attention for any length of time (I’m looking at you, letter C…). And Mode 7th Saga doesn’t cut it.

7th Saga

This picture is me about to die to a bird. That little blue dot is apparently what it looks like when you miss. Fuck birds.

10 thoughts on “7th Saga

  1. SHUT UP I LIKE MODE7

    Naw, it had some bad applications and some good applications. I spose I just like it for the chintz.

  2. Yet another game reviewer obsessed with blood, gore, and nudity. The game is also probably too challenging for him, given how painfully easy most RPG’s of this day are. This opne requires strategy, and careful planning for each excursion. I do agree that this game was ugly, though.

  3. This is a strange game but in the old Enix style a beast unless you know how to tame it. I enjoyed this game when it came out long ago because I learned how to play it. It’s not much different from Dragon Warrior where a level or two can make or break combat. You are forced to use tactics (magic, runes, defend, etc) to prevail in everyday encounters but that is what makes it all worthwhile, at least for some. The story is full of plot-holes and crummy grammar and the ending is less than epic to be generous but the PC’s are varied enough to make it worth spending the 30 some odd hours beating the game if you like that sort of thing. I do anyway.

  4. This is definitely a great game, but not for the “new” gamer – its difficulty ranks up there as one of the hardest games I’ve ever played. But if you like a challange, you’ll like it. Your 1-star rating is laughable. You WILL die in this game, that’s for sure. If you’re too much of a pansy to play a console version, use save-states to make it easier..

  5. This is one of the best RPG’s for the snes and mode 7 is awesome. If you have played 7th Saga and liked it, then be prepared for the new 7th Saga 2.
    (not mystic ark)

  6. The last line makes me think you got broken by Ninja Gaiden. (If you were broken by Castlevania, it would be floating medusa heads.)

Leave a Reply

