Cool Spot

“Come on,” they said, “it’ll be fun.”

“Completely random,” they told me.

Haha, fellers.  Very funny.

I’m the guy who gets all the anthropomorphic mascot platformers now, aren’t I?  The corporate anthropomorphic mascot platformers?

That’s alright.  I’ll do it.  Because I’m a professional.

(Psst!  Truth be told, the joke’s on them.  I don’t mean to blow my own horn or anything, but I fancy myself a bit of a Cool Spot aficionado.)*

I knew Cool Spot first as a videogame character, and second as a spokesperson for lemonade.  See, my 7UP representative in Australia was Fido Dido**, who was pretty much just a cartoon dude with spiky hair.

Seriously, he's just a dude.

Seriously, he's just a dude. With spiky hair.

Don’t ask me why, maybe we were just not cool enough to handle a red dot with sunglasses.  So the first time I saw this circumferential wonder was on the cover of my second Megazone magazine (July 1993), a magazine that I was subscribed to as a member of the uber-hip Sega Club (a multiplatform magazine so openly slack in its coverage of non-Sega platforms, that it dropped all pretense and became Sega Megazone only months later).  Flipping through the pages of my tattered July ’93 issue, I am amused by the superlative praise lavished upon our circular hero.

I have mysteriously come into ownership of two copies of this magazine.  No, I do not want to marry Cool Spot.

I have mysteriously come into ownership of two copies of this magazine. No, I do not want to marry Cool Spot.

“Meet the coolest spot in the world!”  The front cover declares.  Well, nobody’s denying that – how could you conceivably make a spot any cooler beyond painting it red, giving it sunglasses, a mouth, legs and arms, and naming it “Cool Spot”? I humour them, and read on.

‘COOLER THAN SONIC?’ The paragraph header reads.

WOAH! Woah, there!!  Easy, boy!

COOLER THAN SONIC?!!

I drop the magazine to the floor and boot up the ROM.  I prepare myself to play The Jesus of Videogames, though I know in my heart of hearts that nothing can prepare me for this moment.

Hey, this ain’t too bad!  In fact, this is quite good! Precise controls, juicy little secrets. Nice, big jumps – somersaults even.  Quality animation for once!  Crisp, detailed images; chirpy calypso music.

But not cooler than Sonic.

I check the magazine again, because surely I must have missed something:

‘Even standing still, Cool Spot is way cool.  If you thought Sonic’s foot-tapping/watch-checking routine was good, get a load of Cool Spot’s moves: he clicks his fingers and taps his foot in time to the music, he cleans his sunglasses until they’re spotless, gets out his yo-yo and does a few tricks (he can even walk the dog), dusts himself off after a fall and when he’s really bored, he’ll let out a huge, spot stretching yawn.’

Of course!  I always thought Sonic was at his coolest when he was not moving.  I mean, his foot-tapping was unparalleled!  But then Cool Spot came along with his yo-yo tricks, AND THEN HE JUST YAWNED AND BLEW HIM AWAY!  PWND!

OMFG!!!!!!!!11111111111

OMFG!!!!!!!!11111111111 Take that, Sonic!

Was ‘coolness’ the Holy Grail for every post-Sonic platformer?  It’s funny, because I don’t think there’s been a single anthropomorphic mascot platformer reviewed on this website that hasn’t been a) compared to Sonic the Hedgehog (and lost), or b) forgotten in the sands of time.  I should know, because I’ve reviewed them all***.  The only other mascot we remember is the one who didn’t participate in this Fool’s Gold Rush at all – a pudgy plumber from Italy.

The moral of the story is:

SONIC WILL ALWAYS BE COOLER THAN YOU SO DON’T EVEN TRY.  HE’LL SMOKE YOU LIKE A CUBAN AND BURY YOU.


* Despite this, I couldn’t rightly tell you the difference between a ‘spot’ and a ‘dot’.
** Thank God I don’t have to review his videogame.
*** I haven’t really, but I *have* reviewed all the corporate mascot platformers thus far.  What’s that, you say?  Someone else reviewed Chester Cheetah’s Wild Wild Quest?  SHUT UP MY PAIN IS SPECIAL!!

16 Responses to Cool Spot

  1. rapsodas says:

    hahaha it’s kinda funny that you’re giving that kind of games again and again (face_grin)

  2. Nathan says:

    Silly Aussie, 7-Up isn’t Lemonade, its a lemon-lime soda.

    I would have to agree with Megazone, Cool Spot’s idle animation is SOOOOO much better that Sonic’s. I mean, he has a freakin’ yo-yo. There is no way that can be beat.

  3. tehredbaron says:

    That’s interesting, because I can confirm that 7UP is definitely lemonade here in Australia. We have ‘Solo’ for lemon squash and lemon-lime soda, which is also owned by Pepsico/Cadbury Schweppes.

    In fact, you may find that what an Australian refers to as “lemonade” may be what an American refers to as “lemon-lime soda”. (if “lemonade” exclusively refers to lemon juice with sugar in the US, then that is not what I’m referring to; if “lemon-lime soda” in the US refers to a clear, fizzy beverage with no actual lemon or lime juice in it, then that is what I am referring to.)

    Here’s a picture of some Australian 7UP for reference:

    Note that the bottle is green, and the drink itself has no colour.

    (Besides, “spokesperson for lemonade” has a far better ring to it than “spokesperson for lemon-lime soda”.)

    Ah, the semantics of lemonade…we may yet learn something today!

  4. Nathan says:

    I stand corrected, according to Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lemonade , both usages derive from the French “Limonade”, meaning any drink made with lemons and water.

    So it appears that 7-Up is 7-Up, no matter where in the world you are. (Though it is not sold by Pepsi in the US, their version is Sierra Mist, which does NOT have a mascot starring video game)

    And I completely agree, spokesperson for lemonade does sound better.

  5. [...] mascot on the PC in the ’80s; 7 Up followed suit times ten with the ironically titled “Cool Spot“, which was pushed onto just about every popular video game platform early in the following [...]

  6. [...] videogame review ever. It was in Sega Megazone, a magazine I’ve not referred to since my second review ever for Every Game [...]

  7. world dating says:

    world dating…

    [...]Cool Spot « EVERY GAME… EVER[...]…

  8. discount plus size clothes…

    [...]Cool Spot « EVERY GAME… EVER[...]…

  9. Fishing GPS Reviews…

    [...]Cool Spot « EVERY GAME… EVER[...]…

  10. seitensprung agentur test…

    [...]Cool Spot « EVERY GAME… EVER[...]…

  11. PLAN autoryzowany dystrybutor SVENBOX Bydgoszcz…

    [...]Cool Spot « EVERY GAME… EVER[...]…

  12. Good day! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless
    I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging
    links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?

    My website discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours
    and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you happen to be interested feel free to send me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!

  13. In the post you mention that you have two issues of Megazone 29 from July ’93. Would it be possible to scan the article on Cyberpunk and e-mail it to me.

    This article changed my life, and has led me to the career I have now. I kept a copy of this magazine for nearly two decades, but lost it in a move a couple of years ago. It would be hugely appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

